A travel day. Hooray! Back to the SHINKANSEN! (I can’t state it enough, a truly civilized way to travel). Honestly reflecting on the 4th of July, I’m a little grateful to be out of the country for the festivities. I don’t feel much like celebrating with all that is happening in the country. No amount of patriotic flag waving is going to make me feel better about the grifting of the poor and the downtrodden at the hands of a few billionaires making themselves even richer. For the time being I’ll look toward Japan for a few more serendipitous moments before returning to the negativity and selfishness of my home country.
In honor of the 4th, after dinner we decided to try a gay bear bar in our new area of Tokyo, Ueno. Since many bars are literally just counters with bar stools many are very specific about the clientele they will allow in ( i.e. 0nly 20-30 year olds, those dressed in leather, etc.) Luckily we fit the bill for the bear bar with no age restriction. We went to Zun-Guri bar. We had an incredibly good time with the patrons and the staff. They really made us feel welcome and all enjoyed comparing the differences between San Francisco and Tokyo gay culture. Lots of laughs, lots of camaraderie, and more than enough affordable drinks. Matteo Lane, a hilarious gay comedian, says that every country no matter the language has those that have the gay accent, it is a universal. Japan is no exception. One of the younger bears definitely spoke gay fluently, we may not have understood the words…but…giiiiiirrrrrrrrl, we understood the accent.
Well gentle readers, I’m not sure which would piss off MAGA idiots more, American gays in a Japanese gay bar…drinking Japanese beer and Korean soju…I, for one, am not sure there is anything more patriotic than that!
No comments:
Post a Comment